Tigers News · OVAC All-Star hoop rosters announced

MAR 1, 2020


Times Leader Sports Editor

BELLAIRE — Though basketball season is winding down quickly, 60 boys and girls senior players from Ohio Valley Athletic Conference are now assured of playing at least one more game.

The rosters for the annual Samuel A. Mumley OVAC All-Star Game, which is slated for Sunday, April 5 at Ohio University Eastern’s Health and Physical Education Center, are officially set.

Game Director J.R. Battista, who is also the head coach at Bellaire, formally released the rosters late last week.


The Ohio squad, which features six players who helped lead their teams to the OVAC championship game, will be coached by conference-title winning head coaches Steve Eft of Indian Creek and Tori Jarrett of Beallsville.

Each head coach has a representative of his or her team. Actually, there will be two Blue Devils — Ashlie Louden and Ashley Howell — taking part. Representing the 5A champion Redskins is Ally Tweedy.

Martins Ferry, which won the 4A title, has two representatives as well. Post player Richella Spielvogel and shooting guard Madison Ging will put on their Ferry jersey at least one more time.

Bellaire’s Katrina Davis, who put forth one of the most memorable seasons in area memory, was chosen to represent the Big Reds. Beaver Local’s Jenna Riccardo, who led her team to an OVAC title in 2019 and a return trip to the final this winter, was also chosen for the team.

The balance of the roster includes: Amy Bettinger (Monroe Central), Raegan Flood (Shenandoah), Keri Klinkoski (St. Clairsville), Alli Long (River), Sydney Lyon (Conotton Valley), Isabella Oliver (Steubenville Catholic), Rylie Smith (Buckeye Trail) and Jaren Tucker (Bridgeport).

Meanwhile, the West Virginia girls team, which will be coached by Wheeling Central’s Penn Kurtz and Cameron’s Holly Pettit, features a heavy Wheeling flavor with no fewer than six players coming from OVAC 2A champion Wheeling Central and 5A runner-up Wheeling Park.

Kurtz, who guided the Maroon Knights to the conference title as a four-seed, will be joined by Eden Gainer, Kaylee Reinbeau and Hannah White. The former two have battled injuries much of the season, but Reinbeau returned for the conference final.

Wheeling Park, which spent most of the season ranked number one in the big-school state poll, will be represented by Kieran Johnson, Abby Snedeker and Shanley Woods.

University, which was the OVAC champion in 2019, also had three players chosen. They are Ashten Boggs, Abbie Coen and Mallory Napolillo.

The remainer of the West Virginia squad includes: Sydney Duckworth (Hundred), Kennedy Martin (Madonna), Sophia Mikula (Weir), Kyndra Pilant (Magnolia), Natalie Ryan (Brooke) and Jamey White (Valley).


The Ohio boys roster has the largest number of schools represented with 14 with only St. Clairsville and Meadowbrook having two players suiting up. The Buckeye State will be coached by Frontier’s Roger Kirkpatrick, who guided the Cougars to the 1A title, and East Liverpool’s Nate Conley, who guided the Potters to the 4A final.

Each coach will have one of his own players taking part. Representing Frontier is Logan Brookover, while Tresean Jackson was selected from Liverpool.

Meadowbrook, which won the 4A title, has Johnathan McCall and Addy Black in the game. St. Clairsville got Nate Harris and Brett Vike into the game.

The Ohio roster actually has 16 players. Barnesville senior Luke Powell will be part of the festivities, but will not participate because of an injury.

The remainder of the Buckeye squad includes: Luca Connor (Steubenville Catholic), Cameren Grodhaus (Southern Local), Kelly Hendershot (Shadyside), Brendan Matyas (Toronto), Alec McBane (Edison), Jack Parry (Buckeye Trail), Kendal Sherman (Shenandoah), Darien Suggs (Wellsville) and Trenton Wilson (Bellaire).

The West Virginia squad has a heavy taste of Tallman involved. Magnolia’s Dave Tallman and his son David, who is the head coach at Morgantown, will serve as the coaches and each will have two of his former players involved, too.

Representing the Blue Eagles are Qwailei Turner and Jake Gamble, while Morgantown’s Mac McMillen and Alex Rudy will also take part.

Wheeling Park has two representatives, including Alex Vargo and Travis Zimmerman. The only other team with two players is Trinity, which will send Seth Goins and Fletcher Hartsock.

The remainer of the Mountaineer roster includes: Clayton Abate (Wheeling Central), Coltin Barr (Clay-Battelle), Jessop Broughton (Cameron), Brennan Secrist (Madonna), Cody Soles (Hundred), Marshall Taylor (Linsly) and Zach Taylor (Oak Glen).