Boys Varsity Basketball · Hendershot earns Co-Player of the Year

Several locals honored as All-District


MAR 1, 2020


Times Leader Sports Editor

COLUMBUS — Several impressive seasons were put forth this winter in boys and girls basketball by teams and individuals.

Many of those are being recognized today as part of the All-Eastern District Boys and Girls Basketball Teams, which are selected by a media panel within the Eastern District.

Five area players and two coaches were recognized with the top honor as player or coach of the year.


In Division III, Bellaire standout senior Katrina Davis posted one of the most memorable individual seasons in recent memories in helping to lead Bellaire to 15 victories.

Davis scored 629 points this season for a 27.4 points per game average. She didn’t just score the ball, however. She also collected 8.6 rebounds a game and 8.2 steals. Her 188 steals this season qualifies her eighth in OHSAA history.

Davis filled up the stat sheet night in and night out. She had four triple doubles this winter and in a game against East Liverpool, she recorded 18 steals, which is tied for fourth all time in Ohio history.

For her career, Davis finished with 1,579 points, 727 rebounds and 444 steals, which also qualifies for the OHSAA’s top 25 listing.

Davis, who was also named the District 12 Player of the Year, shared the player of the year honor with Hiland standout Zoe Miller, who is committed to Bowling Green.

Union Local posted an impressive 23-2 season with a roster that featured nary a senior. That helped earn second-year head coach Rob Barr a piece of the district’s coach of the year honor along with Hiland’s Dave Schlabach.

In Division IV, Beallsville senior Ashlie Louden helped lead the Blue Devils to a berth in the district tournament with a 17.2 points a game average and was one of the district’s co-players of the year.

Louden did plenty more than just score the ball for the Blue Devils. She passed out 4.4 assists and grabbed 5.3 rebounds a game.

Along with Louden, Caldwell’s Cayton Secrest shared the player of the year award.

Beallsville head coach Tori Jarrett guided her team to a 21-4 record and a second consecutive OVAC Class 1A championship. She did that with a team that featured just seven players for most of the season.

Jarrett shared the coach of the year accolade with Fort Frye’s Dan Liedtke, who had his Cadets sitting at 23-2 entering Saturday’s district championship game against Monroe Central. Fort Frye handed Union Local its only regular-season loss when it claimed the OVAC title in the 3A final.


Becoming the school’s all-time leading scorer was a key ingredient for three of the boys players to be named Eastern District Player of the Year.

In Division III, Barnesville senior Luke Powell and Harrison Central junior Kobe Mitchell filled up the scoring column — and stat sheet — on the nightly for their respective teams en route to earning co-player of the year.

Powell, who is headed to West Liberty next season, averages nearly 35 points and 12 rebounds a game for the Shamrocks. He surpassed the 2,000-point mark against Union Local in January and in early February overtook his father, Matt, as the all-time leading scorer at Barnesville.

Powell, who was a second-team all-Ohioan as a junior, finished his prep career with 2,374 points after he and the Shamrocks were eliminated by Tusky Valley on Friday.

Mitchell, meanwhile, was the Eastern District’s Division II Player of the Year in 2019 and his team dropped down a division for this season, but it didn’t affect his play,

The Harrison Central junior became the all-time leading scorer, regardless of gender, at his school in early February. All told, he averages nearly 32 points a game to go along with 7.6 rebounds, 3.4 assists and 3.3 steals.

Shadyside senior Kelly Hendershot was named the co-player of the year in Division IV after posting an all-Ohio campaign as a junior.

Hendershot averaged 21.4 points a game for the Tigers and became the all-time leading boys scorer during the OVAC Tournament last month. He now has nearly 1,500 points after Shadyside’s sectional game against Frontier.

Hendershot shared the POY honor with Rosecrans’ Weston Nern, who averaged 15.4 points a game.

Meadowbrook head coach Lou “Scooter” Tolzda was named the Division II Coach of the Year thanks to guiding his team to a 19-3 regular season, an OVAC 4A title for the fourth straight year and an ECOL crown.

Colts’ senior Johnathan McCall earned the nod as Division II Player of the Year.